• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Tuning Help Please

R
Aug 30, 2008
Took the Apex out today for the first time. Man, it felt easier to ride than my M7. It would side hill easy, carve and spin cookies, it felt really good to me.

However, that thing had no where near the power that my M7 has. I had it at 14 PSI, and it had a hard time in the deep snow. Wouldn't make it up some of the hills my M7 normally flys up.

I am new to the 4 stroke sleds.

A couple of things:

Stock Maverick Track
BD Turbo
2560 Small Turbo
Stock Rods and Pistons
Head shim(Don't no why this was put in, but ok)
Stock Clutching (except Weights)

Just curious, what can I do to get this thing screaming??? I do have a 174 3" Track and VE Tunnel coming. I am also going to roll the chain case.

What can I do to get this thing running good?

Thanks in advance

sledfvr

Lifetime Membership
Apr 7, 2008
NW MT
If you roll the chaincase it is going to feel more front end heavy. That turbo is maxed out at 14lbs. I'd upgrade to a 2860, less heat and more power. Also a 3" dump pipe right off the turbo and out the side panel helps reduce heat and run harder. The maverick track is about the worst turbo track out there. It peels over and just spins. Camo Extreme makes a big difference. Make sure your afr's are reading around 12.0 wide open so that your not too rich or lean. A 2860 at around 15lbs and these sleds start to come alive. You could run 12lbs on pump fuel with the shim. This should be a good start for you.

sledfvr

Lifetime Membership
Apr 7, 2008
NW MT
I was thinking it was a 2554. I thought that's what the smaller BD kits came with...maybe it was upgraded to a 2560?

E

EZmoney

Nov 27, 2007
West coast