• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

18 Free-Ride Cooler is Shot....

K
Feb 22, 2016
Belgrade MT
Not a good start with a new sled, my cousin is new to the back country side of the sport and pulled the trigger last week on a new free-ride 137. Within the first 2 hours of riding it he managed to smash his throttle block and punch a hole threw his cooler. I am no expert on the gen 4 sleds and have been riding Polaris for my last two rides so I am pretty ignorant on what it takes to change one of these new coolers. I want this to be as painless as possible for the guy any advice on how to go about repairing it?

Thanks in advance

T

towerrigger

Jul 9, 2008
Not sure if the 137’s are the same as 146’s and up but the cooler is integrated into the entire tunnel. Nothing about it is going to be painless. Cheapest and least painless is going to involve taking it to a welder that is good with aluminum.

K
Feb 22, 2016
Belgrade MT
Not sure if the 137’s are the same as 146’s and up but the cooler is integrated into the entire tunnel. Nothing about it is going to be painless. Cheapest and least painless is going to involve taking it to a welder that is good with aluminum.

When the new platform came out i read that it was all integrated. but it seems like it splits in three. It seems like a huge pain in the backside. It is the strangest pin whole. I may just get it welded.

Thanks

Dynamo^Joe

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 26, 2007
Thunder Bay, ont
www.iBackshift.com
Ive seen 2 get welded here and they weep right away. Just can't get the inside of the cooler clean of antifreeze residue.

My riding buddy the skidoo mechanic has been trying out some patching for aluminum - the same patch kit the Ford dealer uses to patch aluminum box sides.
Lord Fusor 108B
and
3M 8115
and
Motorcraft TA-1 Metal panel bonding adhesive.

Trashy

⚙️
Staff member
Lifetime Membership