• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Gopro Resolution?

snowman80

Lifetime Membership
Sep 18, 2011
ND
I just picked up a hero 2 and was wondering what resolution you guys are recording in or what you recommend? I'm not looking to make any crazy awesome movies like a lot of guys do so it doesn't have to be perfect quality but would like good quality. I have a class 10 32gb SD card so storage space shouldn't be an issue. I was also wondering if anyone thinks I should get the battery bacpac or just an extra battery to have more recording time since I have the storage? I am new to the cameras so any other helpful info you would like to share with me about the gopros would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

H

hatchers

Nov 26, 2007
North Utah
www.snowestonline.com
720p/30fps and up is good enough, the high res and more frame rate requires a faster bigger computer to actually playback and edit it, ive got a sweet two yr old imac and it wont play 1080/60 very well (choppy video), but it will playback 1080/30 perfect

Dartos

Lifetime Membership
Sep 6, 2001
Craig, CO
I like to use the highest resolution. You can lower it during processing in most programs but you can't increase it.

I don't like 960p simply because I prefer the widescreen look.

D
Mar 29, 2010
The setting you choose depends on the shot. I prefer the 960 for extreme close-ups, and the 720 for everything else. One issue with mixing up reso's is that some of the basic editors will squash or stretch the image.

L

Lushbomb

Moderator: Premium Member
Nov 26, 2008
PAC NW
www.oneshotproduction.net
I use 960p. The videos looks better than 1080p I think. I bought extra batteries for mine.

you must still have an old CRT type TV too.. thats crazy talk.. i kid... :face-icon-small-hap