• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

'08 975 Dragon RMK

Idcatman3

MODERATOR: Premium Member
Staff member
Nov 26, 2007
Idaho Falls, Idaho
This project has been in the works for the last 6 months or so.

My dad and I have been riding big bore King Cats for a many years now. We like the motor, and don't want to change. Carbs are simple, parts are cheap. We did want the benefits of a newer chassis. Motor won't easily fit in an M-series (it's been done, but a lot of work) and ProClimb chassis are expensive, and also look like a lot of work. Figured we could get the motor in a Pro, but they're also expensive. Decided to start with a Dragon, and figured much of what we learned would transfer when we found a Pro for a price we could stomach.

Picked up a used 2008 rolling chassis at the end of last year. Was supposed to be a 2010, but the price was right.

Started initial fitting of the motor:

picture.php

Looks pretty good, think this will fit without a ton of mods necessary.

We tried to set up to run the same belt our King Cats do, but the C-C is too long. So we're running M8 belts. 0627-046

To mount the motor, we used two stock RMK PTO side motor straps. Replaced the stock mag strap with one of the stock PTO side straps. This gave a level surface. We bolted two additional straps between the stock mounts, and bolted to the bosses on the Cat crankcase. PTO side could almost work with the stock location. You could get the motor slightly lower using a plate, but we ran into issues as is with carb clearance, and with the crankcase hitting the bulkhead on the PTO side.

picture.php

Mounted the fuel pump to an aluminum scrap bolted to the motor strap. Fuel line is just plumbed to a plate blocking off the hole for the EFI fuel pump.