• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Full SLP pipe vs Can and y-pipe

CB.8

Skidoo hill crew
Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Colfax, WA
I need help deciding. I have been riding my 16 cat for two years now and love it. It does not have the pull on the top end that my 07m8 has. The reality is that I have probably been clutched a little high at 8150 on my 16.

My dilemma is do a diamond s can and bmp y-pipe which I have heard runs really good and has a very broad top end. This is about $700 but I don't have to modify any of the chassis, no melting plastic.
Or do the racinstion SLP pipe kit with re-flash for $1100. This requires some plastic to be modded, fuel line rerouted .... 10 years ago I was a modding freak, but today I like to ride.

Btw I ride 5 to 7k.

boondocker97

Lifetime Membership
Oct 30, 2008
Billings MT
Is your 2016 a limited and do you happen to have the stock gearing and drivers in it? If so you need to gear that thing up. It will improve that pulling feeling.

CB.8

Skidoo hill crew
Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Colfax, WA
My 16 is a limited geared at 21/49. Don't get me wrong it run goods but my 07 is amazing for being the red headed step child year. It has everything but a blower or big bore kit. 170 plus on pump gas. Silky smooth. Hell it is the wife's ride now.

Allseasons

Premium Member
Feb 2, 2014
Rocky Mtn House AB
Sorry I don't run that combo, but I found the ssi y pipe (ssi can also)helped low to mid, not peak hp. IMO it's mapping problem. My 16 on the throttle from 7/8 to WOT does nothing, don't believe it's clutching either as there is no change in motor sound. This is why I've been wanting reviews on Racinstation pipe/reflash kit. I can only compare this 16 against my old m1000 where I rode at 3/4 throttle most of the time, and the remaining 1/4 wot was my "get out of trouble" power shot. This m8 doesn't have that.