• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Turbo Reed Set Up volume 2

G
Apr 23, 2008
u r welcome..

I have no experience with tdr reeds on turbos, I did have great results on the triples back in the old days .
Tony's laser cutting is for sure tops in longevity, and doubled , slightly lighter than stock tension reeds would be pretty tough to beat I would think....

harf69

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
I ran them for a season and got about 450 miles on them. I checked them the following year and they were toast

K

knzee

Dec 29, 2008
Great Falls, MT
Looking at getting a set of OVS reed stops for an m8 running 10psi, most of the time. Got around 450 miles on stock m8 reeds and the same on stock m1000 reeds. Pretty sure I am going to call OVS Monday but would like to hear how they are working for the folks who are running them with stock 8 reeds. Thanks

S
Nov 30, 2007
Meridian, Idaho
I put in the early m8/zr reads single stacked with the OVS stops and they lasted less than 15 miles! Put in a double stack today with the OVS stops and they are still good after 18 miles.... That is already a 20% improvement :mad2:

Tonysnoo

Lifetime Membership
Apr 6, 2004
No. Nevada
I put in the early m8/zr reads single stacked with the OVS stops and they lasted less than 15 miles! Put in a double stack today with the OVS stops and they are still good after 18 miles.... That is already a 20% improvement :mad2:

How was the response? Could you tell a difference?

S

SHOP!

Apr 21, 2011
MT. baker
Probably a stupid question, but what about the VForce Reeds??
Those will destroy your motor fast in a turbo set up. I know from experience. The cages will blow apart and bend your rods and wreck your turbo. If Vforce made there billet cages I wouldn't mind giving that a try.

G
Apr 23, 2008
Update,,

404hp on the rt 1000 doo, cat reeds like new..( zr style )