• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Intake temp sensor issue

R
Apr 7, 2009
Abbotsford B.C.
I'm not usually one to ask questions that have be answered before that's what the search function is for. But...

Before i start:
Just bought the sled im new to 900's (know lots about previous gen 800's have 2 of them im not new to fixing sled's that for sure.)
05 rmk 900
Custom cold air by PO
Slp can, pipe, head, etc.
I seem to be stumped on my CEL issue. Three flashes of the CEl according to you guys is intake air temp sensor. Pulled the sensor tested resistance at room temp, it was in the 9.7-10.3 range. Then heated it from a distance with a heat gun, temp went up. Seems to be functioning according to my tests. Next i assumed wiring, tested resistance of each wire from sensor back to the ECU, 0.01 and 0.01, close enough to zero for me to say they're good.

The problem:
Sensor seems good, wiring checks out. Whats going on here? Takes a good minute of idle from a cold start for the sensor to throw the CEL. Also was intermittent last ride, sometimes its on sometimes its off. Really stumps me. I have one plug going to the hood that's a bit melted (maybe touched the pipe?) The smaller of the 2 only about 5 wires on it, I'll get a picture of it after dinner when i go to work on the sled again. According to the service manual wiring diagram that should be the plug that sends the temp signal to the MFD, correct? So if that wire is broken or melted, would that set the CEL off, or does the ECU send the CEL signal to tell the light to come on? The melted plug seemed to still be functioning as i did the heat gun test with the volt meter on the unhooked sensor, and held the heat gun to it, while hooked up to the sled with it running and watching the temp on the MFD change.