For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com



Upgrade to Premium
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2018, 06:20 AM
Mafesto's Avatar
Mafesto Mafesto is online now
Currently: gone fishing until 2/11/19
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northeast SD
Posts: 9,452
Thanks: 801
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,711 Posts
Rep Power: 21474857
Mafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond repute
Default Battery relocation options

I have a XM with TKI belt drive that I've added estart to.
Standard battery and location not an option with the belt drive.
Looking for suggestions or ideas.
Would prefer to use an AGM battery, but may consider capacitor.
Thanks in advance!
__________________
Member of Day County Trailblazers snowmobile club.

Member of South Dakota Snowmobile Assn.

Support the sport you love, join a club & get involved!

Remember, Pig & Elephant DNA just don't splice
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #2  
Old 12-03-2018, 07:57 PM
Mafesto's Avatar
Mafesto Mafesto is online now
Currently: gone fishing until 2/11/19
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northeast SD
Posts: 9,452
Thanks: 801
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,711 Posts
Rep Power: 21474857
Mafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond repute
Default

My preference is to use a capacitor. Can anyone tell me how many amp I'd need?
__________________
Member of Day County Trailblazers snowmobile club.

Member of South Dakota Snowmobile Assn.

Support the sport you love, join a club & get involved!

Remember, Pig & Elephant DNA just don't splice

Last edited by Mafesto; 12-04-2018 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #3  
Old 12-04-2018, 09:31 PM
Mafesto's Avatar
Mafesto Mafesto is online now
Currently: gone fishing until 2/11/19
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northeast SD
Posts: 9,452
Thanks: 801
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,711 Posts
Rep Power: 21474857
Mafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I think I'm learning some things the hard way.
I don't think a capacitor alone will work.
I think there must be a battery.
Perhaps a capacitor will allow a smaller battery to be used. Hoping this to be the case, as this is the root cause of the whole venture in the first place.

Next step is finding the largest battery possible that still fits in sensible location.
If that battery is not powerful enough to crank engine, then a capacitor could be utilized to compensate for the battery's shortcomings.

My hope is that someone is reading this that knows much more than myself, and can enlighten me regarding the aspects I am failing to grasp.

So if you are reading this and you've walked this path, please chime in.
__________________
Member of Day County Trailblazers snowmobile club.

Member of South Dakota Snowmobile Assn.

Support the sport you love, join a club & get involved!

Remember, Pig & Elephant DNA just don't splice
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #4  
Old 12-06-2018, 04:18 PM
jacmmaxwell jacmmaxwell is offline
Currently: wanting to ride
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Basic Member
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 40
Thanked 161 Times in 111 Posts
Rep Power: 8429317
jacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond reputejacmmaxwell has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You'd be better off to use a Lithium , to build a proper capacitor bank to is going to be a pretty decent under taking.


A lithium will give you good CCA once the battery is warmed up. You will likely need to pull start it on really cold mornings. AGM just find the closest CCA battery that fits in the space you have left.


With my can I could turn the battery 90 degrees and it would clear a belt drive no issue , just would need a custom mount.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #5  
Old 12-07-2018, 05:51 AM
Mafesto's Avatar
Mafesto Mafesto is online now
Currently: gone fishing until 2/11/19
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northeast SD
Posts: 9,452
Thanks: 801
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,711 Posts
Rep Power: 21474857
Mafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond reputeMafesto has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacmmaxwell View Post
You'd be better off to use a Lithium , to build a proper capacitor bank to is going to be a pretty decent under taking.


A lithium will give you good CCA once the battery is warmed up. You will likely need to pull start it on really cold mornings. AGM just find the closest CCA battery that fits in the space you have left.


With my can I could turn the battery 90 degrees and it would clear a belt drive no issue , just would need a custom mount.
Yesterday I bought a motorcycle battery that is about 1/3 the physical size of standard battery. Had plenty of power to start engine at 45 degrees, so should be fine after initial first start of the day..

This weekend I'll get it mounted and post a pic.
__________________
Member of Day County Trailblazers snowmobile club.

Member of South Dakota Snowmobile Assn.

Support the sport you love, join a club & get involved!

Remember, Pig & Elephant DNA just don't splice
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thread — Battery Relocation Thread Starter — 1badcat Forum — Arctic Cat: 1100 ProClimb Replies — 2 Last Post — 11-13-2013 06:37 PM
Thread — Best spot for battery relocation Thread Starter — snowguthrie Forum — Polaris: TURBO Replies — 0 Last Post — 09-07-2013 10:03 PM
Thread — 07' Apex Mtn won't Start after battery relocation. Thread Starter — Firemann32 Forum — Yamaha Replies — 8 Last Post — 02-13-2013 01:39 PM
Thread — Battery Relocation Thread Starter — s2h Forum — Arctic Cat: 1100 ProClimb Replies — 6 Last Post — 09-19-2012 10:27 PM
Thread — Apex Battery Relocation-How?? Thread Starter — TreewellDweller Forum — Yamaha Replies — 7 Last Post — 01-06-2009 12:31 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 PM.












no new posts