• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

FE501 with Riot

R
Aug 14, 2019
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this.I haven't ridden a dirt bike in a lot of years, but i have been riding street bikes my whole life.

I'm thinking of the Husky FE 501 so it will be a bit more usable on the trails during the off season. I understand I would have to put some mods on to get the performance.

My question is. Would i be defeating the purpose of the nimbleness of the RIOT by going with a FE 501? Or would the ARO 129 be a better option.

I'm 6'4 220lb. Not sure if that makes a difference or not.

Thank you for your help.

J

Jaynelson

Nov 26, 2007
Nelson BC
Great choice. ARO 129 for more of a mountain/adventure style rider...great kit, spent some time on one last year and that’s what I would buy. Riot for more of a play/ around type rider. Looks like a blast, but will give up a little in the “gotta make it” scenarios

CATSLEDMAN1

Premium Member
Nov 27, 2007
Missoula, Montana
500 with riot

I will be putting a riot on my 2013 KTM 500 that I have been riding as a snowbike since it was new. It will work great.

I plan on some shock re valve, so didn't go for the compression adjuster shocks, I have compression adjuster resevoirs in my shop from old cat racing shocks if I feel they are an improvement. I have run them on the shocks on my older TS kits and it was a good test to see if more compression resistance in the shocks improved traction/ride/playfulness.