• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New to snowbikes

C
Sep 2, 2013
Hey there I’m new to the whole dirt bike industry. I’ve been snowmobiling for years, my son wanted to start riding dirt bikes. So I have decided to sell my sleds and go the snow bike route my questions are.
250 or 450?
Is there anything I should do to the bike to make it more suited for a snow bike
And finally I was thinking the timbersled aro 120 kit, any pros or cons

M
Oct 12, 2017
Toronto
Welcome. You will need to give more specifics about the terrain and general area you and your son plan to ride in. We are here are in Southern Ontario. I think the Camso unit is best suited to our trails (trees) along with our KTM 300s. If you are in more mountainous areas, perhaps a 4T 450 would be better? The shorter Aro 120 track is going to turn better than its 129 counterpart but with not as much traction on the deep climbs.

On the other hand, the Camso 129 track offers a great mix of traction and steering, as it has a single rail and allows the whole track to tilt on side hills and turns. I have only tried the Yetis by comparison. IMO go with a more cost effective entry like Camso and upgrade to a lighter unit later if you feel the need.

So, in the end it's complicated. There is no blanket solution. Only a specific prescription.

C
Sep 2, 2013
Thanks for the info I live in southern Minnesota but do make 2 trips a year out west most of the riding would be in fields and ditches and in the summer mostly trail riding

A
Jan 15, 2010
Sherwood Park AB
Welcome to the sport! A few more questions. How much Moto have you and your boy done? How many hrs a year do you expect to put on each bike?