• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

clueless

B
Oct 3, 2008
I need some serious help here. I'm new to snowmobiling, so new in fact i've never even sat on one. I moved to Seeley Lake a little over 2 yrs ago. 55 yrs old and recently retired. I would have bought a sled last year but I was undergoing 2nd hip replacement in the last 3 yrs so I put it off until I could at least walk. Bought a kawi BF750 this summer and although I still kinda hobble up to it, once on it, it's get out of my way, not ready for assisted living just yet. Don't want stay holed up in the house another winter. After extensive research I thought I picked a good sled for a first time rider, an arctic cat z1 (heated seat was a major factor). I called the AC dealer in Missoula about a purchase and he said "one, doesn't have any, isn't going to get any, z1 poor choice for seeley lk, and that I would need to get some kind of mountain sled." I'm only looking at trail riding, not a kid anymore. Sled comfort is more important than speed, hopefully a 4 stroke. Is this guy right? Can anyone familar with seeley lake trails point me in the right direction on a sled choice? Thanks

T

TheBreeze

Jul 23, 2008
Sussex, Wisconsin
If you are really only going to ride trails then the Z1 is a great sled for you. Lost of creature comforts, and great rider position adjustibility, and a smooth ride from what I have heard. However, it is going to be a heavy sled that will be damn near useless off trail.

You may want to look into a crossover sled, to gain some off trail ability, while still remaining an enjoyable trail ride. I just have an inkling feeling that you are going to have a hard time resisting the powder.

There are some other forums more dedicated to trail riding. I do not know the rules here regarding posting about other snowmobile forums, so PM me if you want me to point you in the right direction.

H