• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Final sled decision...Nytro MTX or XP 146?

S
Feb 5, 2008
Anchorage
Edit: Couple pics on page 2

Hey guys, sorry for the new post but I thought it might draw a little more attention. I'm having a serious personal debate with myself tonight so I thought I'd ask for input. Here's the deal...

I went to every dealer in Anchorage today, Polaris, Cat, Doo, Yamaha. I sat on all the sleds I've been considering and was able to narrow down my choice. Here's my opinon:

08 Arctic Cat M8 Sno Pro - Hated the fit and finish. I worked as a test engineer for BMW for a few years and fit and finish was one of my responsibilities. There is no way I could buy this...just personal opinion, not for me.

08 Polaris RMK 600 155 - Nice sled but didn't feel as good to me as a couple of the other sleds. I definitely think Polaris puts out nice products but I don't think I want to spend what it would take to get a Dragon 800.

08 Ski-doo Rev-xp Summit 146 - This is probably my favorite sled to sit/stand on. I love the styling and power but am concerned on the reliability. I've read a countless number of posts debating the reliability of this machine and know what everyone thinks. The guys at AKMD seemed very knowledgeable, they spent a lot of time with me, the service dept candidly answered every question I had (belts, driveshaft, hand warmers). From what they said, the belt issue has been taken care of with the new belt. They said they have seen two driveshaft issues but said they seem scarce. The hand warmer issue has been corrected. All in all, I've been very impressed with them and love the XP...if it hadn't had any issues it would be in my garage right now. The main aspect that complicates things is that they just dropped the price to 8600 which is 1000 less than the Nytro I was leaning towards.