• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Wife's first time riding--where to take?

S

seth25

Jan 9, 2008
Sedalia, CO
I am new to the sport and I live in Denver. I have been up to Vail pass a few times, but no other areas. I am taking my wife this weekend and it is her first time to ride. We are looking to do moslty trail riding. We are taking 2 2000 powder specials and a ski doo touring 500. I hear that Rabit Ears is good riding, but we would like to stay closer to Denver. Is the Church Park area in Fraser any good? Any places around Breckenridge?

Thanks

A

APEXMT

Nov 27, 2007
Go To The Thread Denver Under This Forum That I Started Might Help You Out

A
Jun 23, 2004
Black Diamond, WA
Since you have your own machines, you're not limited to places that rent sleds. For new riders, I'd reccomend Vail/Shrine Pass. Lots of trails and you can ride to Redcliff for lunch (better than cold beef jerky and half frozen Gatorade to keep your wife liking snomobiling).
Georgia Pass, out of Jefferson or Boreas Pass from Como is pretty mellow and close to Denver. Can get to from Breck side as well. Lots of nice scenery and good roads, no grooming except on the Tiger Run side of Georgia Pass where all the rentals run. Both of these, just drive N out of the respective towns until you want to dump the sleds off and go.
Grand Lake has tons of trails and good town for eating/accomodations.
Church Park, out of WP or Fraser, lots of trails.
Winter Park/Corona Pass/Meadow creek (turn R off of 40 before getting into WP at the Dakota??(Lakota) Ridge subdivision, can park about 3 mi in., PM me for directions), lots of trails, no powder unless you ride trees or the weather is good enuff to go over Corona Pass. Grooming was awesome there last week. Not a bump to be found except for the short ride in from the parking lot to the main trail that is never groomed.
Hope this helps.

PJ-Hunter