• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

08 M1000-Suspension Setup

A
Nov 26, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
I could use some help on properly setting up the suspension on my 08 M1000, This is my first sled and I am new to snowmobiling, I have rode dirt bikes all of my life and am very familiar with setting up the suspensions on them but this sled is a whole new animal. I have not rode the sled yet so I don't know how the stock setup is going to work for me but I will be making my first trip this coming weekend to get it broke in.

It seems to me that their is a lot of sag in the suspension, from fully extended to rider sag I would say their is probably 5" which seems like a lot to me. I have been playing around with the fox float and currently have 150 psi in it which I believe is the maximum.

I weight 220 or probably closer to 250 fully geared so any help would be appreciated.

R
Dec 2, 2001
Spokane WA
I would start with med. to high pressure in all shocks and put the limiter strap in the middle, The front skid shock med. firm. I rode mine on the trail this weekend (230lbs) and was very impressed so far. I was suprised how well it handles with no torsion springs, Kris

idacatman2

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Ashton, ID
was verry impressed with how the new skid works. I didnt touch a thing on mine, but it does seem a little stiff when sitting on it in the garage, but down the trail was very plush, I will check the psi in the shock and post as I am very close to your weight as well. The thing I liked was the transfer when climbing, very nice feel to it and the front pulls up just the right amount not too much not to little, just perfect for controlability with leaning. Very nice on the rider input side of things.

Greg

mrquick68

Lifetime Membership
Dec 20, 2004
Kirkland, WA
So whats up with all of the sag in the rear suspension is this normal?