• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Sled Skiing Cameron Pass or the Snowies?

T
Dec 31, 2007
Not trying to move in on anyones secret stashes, but is there much sled access skiing around? Just moved to Ft Collins and want to do some exploring this winter. Nothing to extreme, just enough to get a few laps in when conditions are right.

T

trinitypowder

Nov 26, 2007
There are a few spots up Cameron....................but, the Snowies are usaully a WHOLE LOT BETTER for depth. They are usually pretty close in snow depth until January, and then the Range starts to PILE IT UP!

Goinboardin

Premium Member
Nov 15, 2009
Laramie, WY
I'm new to Laramie. I'm in the same boat. Wondering where the better boarding will be. Snowies seem limited on steep tree runs to me and the big ridge (Medicine Bow Peak) looks like it gets really wind loaded, but Cameron is farther, sounds drier, and doesn't sound as sledder friendly. I'm happy skinning for good riding, but sled laps are always a bonus. On another note, a guy on a chairlift on Wednesday told me to be damn careful on Cameron Pass as he lost a friend up there in a slide...

If you're ever looking for someone to explore/ride with, send me a PM. I'm generally pretty busy with school, but I can usually make it happen on the weekends (at least one of the days). This will be my 4th season in the backcountry, 15th on a board, I like riding anything that won't get me killed.

Anyone with thoughts on either the Snowies or Cameron for ski/boarding please speak up.

Trinity, could you elaborate a little on the spots up Cameron? Thanks!

Last edited:
T

trinitypowder

Nov 26, 2007