• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Do I need a beacon?

G

Gottheurge

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Apr 25, 2011
Boise, ID
So, I'm about to begin my first season snowmobiling. I'm 31 and pretty much a total newbie. I live in Idaho and know that there are a gazillion places where there's avalanche risk. I'm not sure if I'll be riding them though. At this point, I know I will be using my sled on trails to get out and enjoy the scenery. I'm not much of a risk taker and have no real desire to skirt death on a regular basis. Is avy risk unavoidable? Is avoiding it no fun?

So, how necessary is it to have a beacon? And if so, I hear you have to have two of the same since not all of them are compatible.

If I do decide to get 1 or 2, a buddy can get me a deal on some $350 units from mammut for half price. I like deals but would my $$$ be better spent on a good gps?

Fire away, I'm ready to be educated.

Thanks!

freak485

Lifetime Membership
Feb 4, 2011
Billings, MT
I would say yes.....especially if you got someone who can get you a deal. I would suggest the BCA tracker 2 i did a lot of reading over the summer and it seems to be a great choice there are other great choices as well but the tracker 2 is by far the simplest to use and that counts who know how you will react when someone you know or love is buried.

Being in ID i for sure say yes since your around a lot of areas that can have avys, you never know you might get bored and want to try a little hill climbing. Also if you have buddies that like to ride in those areas and you just like to watch them do the stupid stuff id hate to not have a beacon...

Just my thoughts

www.avalanche1tv.com
http://www.avalanche1.com/
couple links that Mike Duffy gave me he is a avy class instructor and was a lot of help to me his user name is snowww1 am sure he would give you any more help you need!

G

Gottheurge

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Apr 25, 2011