• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

track clearance issues for IQ RAW (AND PRO CHASSIS RMK & ASSAULTS)

P
Dec 7, 2007
Mill Creek, WA
Mountainhorse note 10-17-2010: I have copied this from the IQ section as it applies to the Pro Chassis which has the same dimensions to the roof of the tunnel from the drive shaft center.

I recently bought a D8. I'm brand new to Polaris and in my quest to learn more about my new (used) sled, its limits, and benefits, a topic has surfaced. Some friends of mine and I were discussing this last night over some beer and wine, and I'm curious if others out there have experinece with this, and maybe others have thought of things we have not.

I have heard that there is a windage drag developed in that tunnel between the track and tunnel/bulkhead, and a snow drag as well, so switching from the 5.1 to say, a Chal-Extreme creates more drag, both snow and wind. I was informed of this concern from a polaris guy who is well regarded, and he was very kind to me when he shared his advice. But, with all do respect to him, after thinking about this for a couple days, I'm not convinced, and here's why:
1) when we are out riding, that tunnel gets packed full of snow all the way up inside. So, weather there is 4" or clearance, or 1/2" of clearance (between the paddles and tunnel/bulkhead) when sitting in our garage at home, when we're riding, all that 'clearance' is now packed full of snow. Sure, there is HP that is robbed with that process, but I can't see how we can get away from that with any design, or amount of spacing; It's just part of what happens when you run a track on snow at high speed. Even if you powdercoat it and run heat exchangers up there to 'melt' the snow off, when we're on the throttle, the rate the track brings snow up there will vastly overcome any hot surfaces' ability to melt/repel built up snow until you come to a stop.