• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Advice needed on Snow Hawk purchase please!

M

MDiver

Nov 1, 2009
I'm just getting into snowmobiling this year, after looking around, I think that the Snow Hawk might be my best fit. In the summer I ride a KTM 450 SX-F, a mix of trail riding and motocross. I love riding/racing the bike, and the Snow Hawk seems to be the best winter match (although, I did consider a 2moto kit). They guys that I would be riding with in the winter ride conventional two-ski machines. Most of them modified mountain machines. I need a Snow Hawk that will match their performance in the mountains (I just don't want to get left behind due to the machine, my riding maybe, bu not the machine).

I have found a couple used Snow Hawks that aren't too far away. I am wondering if you guys can give me a liitle advice on what I should be looking to pickup. I would really like an 800, but they seem hard to find. It has been recommended to me that I pick up a 600, ride it, and when I crave more, just drop an 800 in. Is this a difficult task, or quite easy? I am somewhat mechanically inclined, I just have zero experience in the snowmobile world, but I regularly wrench on my bike. The other big unknown for me is track length. What do most people reccomend for mountain riding? I have found two machines, one is 136", the other is 144". I have also heard about just swapping the track out for a longer one. Is this a big task (it doesn't seem like it would be too bad)? What kind of cost would should i consider when swapping tracks and or engine?

Thanks in advance everyone, I have browsing this forum for a couple of days and can't wait to get a machine and get in the mix!

C

cjgodden

Nov 26, 2007
Palmer, Alaska