• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

thinking of buying a hawk

M
Dec 29, 2007
hi, i have been sledding for a couple of years and i am thinking of picking up a hawk. most of the ones i see around alberta are the '03 503f's. i ride in the mountains, are the 500's up to the challenge? or would i be better off waiting for a 600. also seen a bunch of stuff about needing an upgraded ski and some reference to a chaindrive rather than the belt. are these things a must have? how easy is it to pump the 500 up to around 100 horse? thanks

C

cjgodden

Nov 26, 2007
Palmer, Alaska
The 500f's are very capable machine's. under a good rider I have seen them go everywhere I went on my 600. It will leave you wanting more power. Getting 100hp out of that engine is unrealistic. Lots of guys have started out with the 500 chassis and upgraded to a liquid cooled engine. If you have the mechanical skills that is a very good option.

The 600 is a great machine, has lots of power, will take you places you have never dreamed possible. After a while you will find yourself riding pinned most of the time and within a couple of years you will be wanting more power. Even easier upgrade to an 800 because all the cooling is there.

An 800 is a hawk is a animal. Hang on to your shorts. You will have the ride of you life.

Just remember your not going to jump on a Hawk and cruise down the trail. You have to ride with conviction ALL the time. There is no relaxing. There is a HUGE learning curve. Its like no machine you have ever ridden. But If you commit yourself and hang in there, when you do "figure it out" you'll never look back.

B
Jan 12, 2008
hamburg,ny