• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Getting the Hawk out of your truck?

Cooksend

Lifetime Membership
Feb 22, 2008
I have been trying to figure out the best way to get the Hawk out of the back of my truck alone. This is a pain in the arse with two people let alone trying to get this done by myself. Yes I am a rookie at this but there has got to be an easy way!

Lets see some pics of your set up and why it works.

Thanks in advance!

Nov 2, 2009
SLC, UT
A guy parked next to us at Hawkfest had a boom with an electric pulley mounted in the bed of his truck that lifted the hawks in and out. Looked pretty nice. I think Snow Hawk Gal took a pic of it.

I mounted a $100 electric hoist in my garage to put the hawks in--easily done by myself. Then I just back up to a snowbank to unload and load which I can also do by myself.

whistlerhawk

Premium Member
Mar 23, 2008
Whistler BC
Crane is rock star!

After years of wrestling, cursing, wiping out after a long day (I'm sure we all have our own horror stories), I finally got a crane. 1000lb lifting capacity, one person operation...but not cheap. All in for me it was $2800, including the mounting infrastructure to my chassis. I'm sure there are way cheaper options for those mechanically and welding inclined, but the crane is the way to go IMO.

truck up beside.jpg

B

BlazinBya

Nov 26, 2007
Eagle River Wi
Badazz,but hardly practical unless your a scrapper and could justify the hoist and use it as a write off!

Ive got a few ideas in mind greg....just need some time in the shop when were not wrenchin on the rides to try out a few proto's

Last edited:
Hi