• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

97 MM 600 Engine Opinions

Escmanaze

Lifetime Membership
Dec 8, 2007
USA
Hi Guys,
Below are some pics and video of my MM 600. There is a lot of moisture on the exhaust end, and I wasn't sure if it was sounding right either. I am certainly not a mechanic, so if there is something wrong, that just means I'll end up taking it to the shop, but I wanted your opinion first - based on what you see and hear, is a trip to the shop called for here?

view

view

view

B
Jan 26, 2013
is that the first time you have run it all summer? I'm not an expert on the 600 twins but its not uncommon to get condensation in the exhaust when the humidity goes up or in the spring/fall when you get below the dew point at night.

Also not uncommon for those exhaust donut and header gaskets to leak as they get old. Do you have a compression tester? pull compression and see if the 2 cylinders are close. anything around 130 or higher is good.

Escmanaze

Lifetime Membership
Dec 8, 2007
USA
well I put them away in about march, and I think I started them up right around May, but then yes, I got busy and they didn't get started all summer. I tried in August, but it actually wouldn't start at all, so then at the end of september I bought some starter fluid and that got it started.

I don't have a compression tester, otherwise I would love to test the compression to see if it's all good.

Maybe I should take it to a shop to see if the compression is good or if there are leaks as you mention? Problem is, there isn't a Yamaha dealer around here that I'm particularly in love with.

retiredpop

Lifetime Membership
Jul 3, 2001
Calgary