• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

How to ride the pro?

F
Sep 11, 2014
Looking for some advice....
I have been riding for 20+ years. My last Polaris sled was an Escape and then I bought a King Cat. Spent the last 8 years riding that sled and I loved everything about it. Wasn't anything left to mod on that sled and I realized last year that the years were catching up to me and I had to move on to something lighter.

So I picked up a 2014 Pro (163). My concern is that I spent a day on one a few years back and I struggled a little with it. I am so used to horsing a sled around that I just could not get a feel for it. Climbing and sidehilling felt normal, but in the trees and on those downhill-sidehill-turn it back up the hill manuevers I felt like I had never been on a sled before. Also, on those downhill-side hill situations where I was trying to pick a line in the trees, the sled felt like it was going to tip over. The sled seemed to really squat on the downhill ski if I stopped to pick a line.

Anyone on here remember back when you first switched to the pro? What riding style adjustments did you make? I have been told that you don't need to get on the uphill running board all the time and muscle it like the old sleds. Just ride straddled most of the time. But still, I know there are situations where you need more and that is where I think I was struggling. So does everyone go wrong foot forward in this situation? Are you using your arms more than your body? Am I over thinking this? It was in spring conditions so the snow was really setup, but I had 0 confidence in those tight technical conditions by the end of that day. Whereas, on my King Cat, I can put that sled anywhere on the hill that I want to be. Hoping I don't have a steep learning curve ahead of me.......

Thanks in advance for your help -

Last edited:

Wheel House Motorsports

Lifetime Membership