700 CFI ( 2010 ) Crazy high idle speed... ? - SnoWest Snowmobile Forum
For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com

New Thread

Go Back   SnoWest Snowmobile Forum > Performance & Modifications > Polaris > Polaris: IQ


SnoWest
Register Forums New Posts Classifieds Garages


Upgrade to Premium
Polaris: IQ 2005-Current, all models in the IQ and IQ Raw chassis

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2013, 01:10 AM
lasse lasse is offline
Currently: Not set.
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 118
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6642
lasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud of
Question 700 CFI ( 2010 ) Crazy high idle speed... ?

I have a problem with crazy high idle speed on a
IQ RMK Dragon 700 CFI ( 2008 )
With warm engine the idle speed is 2650 RPM
( cold engine the idle speed is 3600 Rpm ).
I have had this problem for about 2 years,
but now it starts to annoying me.

The engine runs great and is bone stock aside from a SLP can.
Fuel consumption is ok.

What is wrong ?
What can i do about it ?


Last edited by lasse; 03-11-2013 at 12:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #2  
Old 03-07-2013, 03:10 PM
Ghuds Ghuds is offline
Currently: Need snow!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Thanks: 25
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 181247
Ghuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I was having some idle isuues with my sled, so I bought a tps tester and adjusted it. It wasn't way off but off enough I guess. After that I played around with the adjuster on the throttle cable and now it idles smoothly at about 1550 rpm. I also have a lefty throttle that may have been part of the problem too. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #3  
Old 03-07-2013, 04:05 PM
lasse lasse is offline
Currently: Not set.
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 118
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6642
lasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud of
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghuds View Post
I was having some idle isuues with my sled,
so I bought a TPS tester and adjusted it.
It wasn't way off but off enough I guess.
After that I played around with the adjuster on the throttle cable and now it idles smoothly at about 1550 rpm.
Where did you get an TPS tester ?
In what way does a bad adjusted TPS shows ?
The engine runs really well.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #4  
Old 03-07-2013, 05:37 PM
Ghuds Ghuds is offline
Currently: Need snow!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Thanks: 25
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 181247
Ghuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I got the tester off ebay from a guy here in Colorado that builds them. I posted the info a week ago or so. Let me know if you can't find it. There's also a thread on how to adjust it (i think it's under "Increasing your IQ" at the top of the IQ forum). It took me about a half hour to do it, most of the work is removing the throttle bodies. Its not that hard.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #5  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:19 PM
lasse lasse is offline
Currently: Not set.
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 118
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6642
lasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghuds View Post
I got the tester off ebay from a guy here in Colorado that builds them.
I posted the info a week ago or so.
Let me know if you can't find it.
I have found it: http://www.snowestonline.com/forum/s...d.php?t=340485
...but I have not a clue to how to search on e-Bay

Last edited by lasse; 03-07-2013 at 11:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #6  
Old 03-09-2013, 08:37 AM
Ghuds Ghuds is offline
Currently: Need snow!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Thanks: 25
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 181247
Ghuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Here's the link.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Polaris-or-A...d2dd4d&vxp=mtr
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #7  
Old 03-11-2013, 12:30 AM
lasse lasse is offline
Currently: Not set.
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 118
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6642
lasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud oflasse has much to be proud of
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghuds View Post
Thanx !

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


The CFI bridge also has an idle screw...
Can I turn this screw and adjust the idle RPM after I have adjusted the TPS ?
I would like to have the idle to ~1750 RPM

Last edited by lasse; 03-11-2013 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #8  
Old 03-11-2013, 08:26 AM
Ghuds Ghuds is offline
Currently: Need snow!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Thanks: 25
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 181247
Ghuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond reputeGhuds has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I suppose, but I'm no expert. I just set mine at baseline and left it.
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #9  
Old 03-17-2013, 08:36 PM
Kraven's Avatar
Kraven Kraven is offline
Currently: Enjoying the2013PRO-R800-Returning from YELLOWSTONE
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 93
Thanked 401 Times in 262 Posts
Rep Power: 17382574
Kraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond reputeKraven has a reputation beyond repute
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by lasse View Post
Thanx !

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


The CFI bridge also has an idle screw...
Can I turn this screw and adjust the idle RPM after I have adjusted the TPS ?
I would like to have the idle to ~1750 RPM
ON THE BOLD ABOVE: NO!

The T.P.S. procedure using voltage specs determines idle speed.

Once you've set the T.P.S. to spec, DON'T TOUCH the adjusting screw.

VACUUM LEAK:Another possible cause of your high idle is a vacuum leak somewhere, although if you've had this high idle for a while now, one would think you would have burned a hole in a piston by now???
Any way , check for torn/ripped throttle body boos, crank seal, etc.
__________________
2008 POLARIS PINK DRAGON 120 DELIVERED BY SANTA TO MY 3 1/2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER ON CHRISTMAS DAY 2007
2007 DRAGON 700 PC-3, V-FORCE 3, AIR HORN + FLO-RITES, PUSH ARM, 4400 MILES+
2002 EDGE-X 800 SNO-CHECKED, 6400+ MILES
1999 XCR 800 SNO-CHECKED
1998 XC 700 SNO-CHECKED
1996 800 STORM SNO-CHECKED 1993 750 STORM
BYRON,IL '84
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High idle on 2001 700 RMK steepndeeper Polaris: GEN 2 8 02-28-2013 10:46 PM
700 CFI Twins ..Race ECU.. High Comp Head Killer Time Racing IQR Parts 0 09-18-2012 09:13 AM
06 xfire 700, high idle, cuts out davidd Arctic Cat: M Series 1 01-31-2010 08:53 AM
700 cfi low idle cbrew325 Polaris: IQ 8 12-23-2009 12:49 AM
High Compression Head for 700 CFI? AndrettiDog Polaris 2 12-08-2007 11:10 PM



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 AM.


All contents copyright 2007-2014, SnoWest Magazine, Harris Publishing Inc.




SnoWest snowmobile magazine is published by Harris Publishing, Inc.
no new posts