Phazer won't start, it brand new! - SnoWest Snowmobile Forum
For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com

New Thread

Go Back   SnoWest Snowmobile Forum > Performance & Modifications > Yamaha > Yamaha: 4-Stroke > Phazers!


SnoWest
Register Forums New Posts Classifieds Garages


Upgrade to Premium
Phazers! Nothing but Phazers!

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2012, 12:28 PM
sledneckwannab sledneckwannab is offline
Currently: Getting the sleds ready, almost time to ride!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minot ND
Age: 23
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 230725
sledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond repute
Default Phazer won't start, it brand new!

My phazer won't start and its brand new, turns over, almost started, now it just cycles and no ignition. Brand new machine!
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #2  
Old 10-09-2012, 12:52 PM
Climbmax's Avatar
Climbmax Climbmax is offline
Currently: Hello Drama and Karma...you related?

 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Big Mountains of B.C.
Posts: 745
Thanks: 49
Thanked 456 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 21470183
Climbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond reputeClimbmax has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You should call your dealer? You have fuel in it right?
RS
__________________
2011 Nypex, Full CR tube tunnel with Carbon skin, MCX plenum, Boost It Fuel system, 174 x 16 x 3", CR M10 skid

2008 Nytro, 270 MCX pump fuel, 174 x16x 2.5", Racers Edge Skid, CR chasis, ZBroz Front end and Shocks

Apex with MCX front mount, Full CR chasis, 174 x16 X 2.5", Racers Edge skid, Boost It fuel system

AST1
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
The Following User Says Thank You to Climbmax For This Useful Post:
TBird (10-09-2012)
  #3  
Old 10-09-2012, 01:02 PM
RACINSTATION's Avatar
RACINSTATION RACINSTATION is online now
Currently: Working on some Top Secret stuff.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,018
Thanks: 165
Thanked 1,789 Times in 958 Posts
Rep Power: 21474854
RACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Fouled plugs, very common in Phazers. When you start it you have to let it run for at least 5 minutes. If you start it and shut if to repeatedly it will foul the plugs. Put new plugs in the sled and you will be good to go.
__________________
Top Secret Shop of America--Turbo Kits, Exhaust, and Hardware!!

Yamaha Viper mods

Jaws M8 Singles for the 2012-2015 in stock!

2012/2013 Arctic Cat Proclimb Fuel tank USED For Sale

Check out our new Proclimb Carbon Fiber Vents!
http://www.theracinstation.com/Racin...Id=-1970&fpg=1

Jacobsen Rollover valves in stock for M1100Turbo and Viper/M7000!!

Camoplast 3" 174, 162 and 156 x15 tracks on hand now

Your MDS weight headquarters.

EVOLUTION BIG CHUTE AND SUPER CHUTE TURBOS ON HAND!!!http://www.theracinstation.com/EVOLU...Id=-1970&fpg=1

Lightweight Batteries http://www.theracinstation.com/produ...atalogId=-1970

Team ProClimb secondary complete setups ready!http://www.theracinstation.com/produ...Id=-1970&fpg=1


Reman M6,M7,M8 and M1000 cylinders in stock.

www.theracinstation.com
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RACINSTATION For This Useful Post:
sledneckwannab (10-09-2012), Texasron (10-13-2013)
  #4  
Old 10-09-2012, 01:39 PM
sledneckwannab sledneckwannab is offline
Currently: Getting the sleds ready, almost time to ride!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minot ND
Age: 23
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 230725
sledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Dealer filled the gas tank before I bought it. It ran once since for 5 minutes. How do I go about replacing them as it seems hard to access? I hear take off fuel tank but can I will all the fuel in there?
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #5  
Old 10-09-2012, 01:57 PM
RACINSTATION's Avatar
RACINSTATION RACINSTATION is online now
Currently: Working on some Top Secret stuff.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,018
Thanks: 165
Thanked 1,789 Times in 958 Posts
Rep Power: 21474854
RACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond reputeRACINSTATION has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Take the seat off and unbolt the tank and slide it back. It is OK with the fuel in there.
__________________
Top Secret Shop of America--Turbo Kits, Exhaust, and Hardware!!

Yamaha Viper mods

Jaws M8 Singles for the 2012-2015 in stock!

2012/2013 Arctic Cat Proclimb Fuel tank USED For Sale

Check out our new Proclimb Carbon Fiber Vents!
http://www.theracinstation.com/Racin...Id=-1970&fpg=1

Jacobsen Rollover valves in stock for M1100Turbo and Viper/M7000!!

Camoplast 3" 174, 162 and 156 x15 tracks on hand now

Your MDS weight headquarters.

EVOLUTION BIG CHUTE AND SUPER CHUTE TURBOS ON HAND!!!http://www.theracinstation.com/EVOLU...Id=-1970&fpg=1

Lightweight Batteries http://www.theracinstation.com/produ...atalogId=-1970

Team ProClimb secondary complete setups ready!http://www.theracinstation.com/produ...Id=-1970&fpg=1


Reman M6,M7,M8 and M1000 cylinders in stock.

www.theracinstation.com
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #6  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:02 AM
graham_r graham_r is offline
Currently: Still Snowmobiling
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 582
Thanks: 48
Thanked 88 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 0
graham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond reputegraham_r has a reputation beyond repute
Default

How do you replace the plugs on a brand new machine? You take it back to the dealer and say, "fix this pile, it wont start." I wouldn't spend one second wrenching a Brand new sled.

What would you do if your brand new truck wouldn't start?
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #7  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:20 AM
bholmlate bholmlate is online now
Currently: currently looking for work to support my habit
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 917
Thanks: 204
Thanked 204 Times in 167 Posts
Rep Power: 17727597
bholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond reputebholmlate has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Is there a code flashing on the speedo. if its flashing 84 its the TORS system PIA I think TOP had the best advice since its a new sled. I would not tear it apart to change spark plugs on a 4 stroke. becasue it wont start. there has to be another reason. If it almost starts it couldnt be the kiil switch is not pulled out

Its almost as obvious as putting the plug in the bottom of the boat before launching. It seems so easy but its often over looked HeHe
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #8  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:31 AM
sledneckwannab sledneckwannab is offline
Currently: Getting the sleds ready, almost time to ride!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minot ND
Age: 23
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 230725
sledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Thanks for the help guys and no it was the plugs, I cracked up laughing when you said is the kills witch down...haha man I'm new to four strokes not sled, Thanks for all your help, the plugs were black as oil!
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
  #9  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:32 AM
sledneckwannab sledneckwannab is offline
Currently: Getting the sleds ready, almost time to ride!
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minot ND
Age: 23
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 230725
sledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond reputesledneckwannab has a reputation beyond repute
Default

They told me up to $300 and yes under warranty, I did it myself. For 13 bucks,
Reply With Quote
Rate this post: Yes | No
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to PULL START a Yamaha Phazer christopher Phazers! 1 11-01-2011 05:11 PM
08 Phazer 500 wouldn't start- at first Kennedy Phazers! 1 01-03-2011 08:58 AM
07 Phazer wont start andre162 Phazers! 3 12-05-2009 10:04 AM
87' phazer w/electric start and .75" track ReTodd Yamaha (Swapmeet) 0 03-24-2008 04:14 PM
1988 phazer electric start $800 (WA state) granger Yamaha (Swapmeet) 0 12-28-2007 12:45 PM



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


All contents copyright 2007-2014, SnoWest Magazine, Harris Publishing Inc.




SnoWest snowmobile magazine is published by Harris Publishing, Inc.
no new posts