PDA

View Full Version : Phazer spark plugs?


>yamaha<
11-12-2008, 09:32 PM
How do i change my plugs? I dont realy know what i am looking at under the gas tank:confused:

roughrider99
11-12-2008, 10:16 PM
Its pretty easy just there is a bit involved.

1. remove seat (only 2 bolts. one on each side)
2. remove all plastic on top and probably the sides.
3.take off the gas tank. this gives full accsses tpo the top of the engine.
4. remove the caps off the spark plugs which are held on by screw.
there u go.
just take ur time and look at all the bolts needed to be taken off.

after you do it once its easy. It takes me about 20 min to take the sled apart and put it back together.

If this don;t help just look in your manual as the procedure is in there

>yamaha<
11-12-2008, 10:26 PM
Thanks do i just pull the caps off or?

roughrider99
11-12-2008, 10:49 PM
the caps are the spark plug boot so pop those off then the spark plugs are down in the engine.

powdermuncher
11-13-2008, 02:01 AM
Why do you want to change them? what is the interval Yamaha asks for ?

This is not a 2 stroke they last way longer.

>yamaha<
11-13-2008, 08:18 AM
Well i had it started a day ago then i went to start it again and it would not fire so my dealer told me to drain the gass and change plugs.But i dont even know if this is the problem.

roughrider99
11-13-2008, 04:15 PM
when i built my exhaust for my phazer i fouled a cpl plugs from changing fuel mapping. just change ur plugs and drain gas like dealer said and should be good to go.

>yamaha<
11-13-2008, 04:59 PM
I just put on mbrp exhaust. so maybe same thing happened.

Mean Yamaha
11-13-2008, 06:26 PM
I had that same problem on my Apex and I just changed the plugs and she fired right up.

roughrider99
11-13-2008, 07:11 PM
ya whenever you change the exhaust on a newer yammie the efi fouls the plugs once and then your good again.

trench digger
11-13-2008, 10:03 PM
when i built my exhaust for my phazer i fouled a cpl plugs from changing fuel mapping. just change ur plugs and drain gas like dealer said and should be good to go.

roughrider, how did you change your fuel mapping. i built an exhaust on my phazer and it seems to be running to lean. i notice the temp light comes on quite often. do i need a programmer or is there another way. thanks