November 24, 2011

Where To Turn For Avalanche Center Info



U.S. avalanche contacts for snowmobile avalanche education

Here is where you can find out the lastest information about avalanche conditions across the West.

www.avalanche.org

National

Karl Birkeland, Acting Director and Avalanche Scientist

Forest Service National Avalanche Center

kbirkeland@fs.fed.us  (406) 587-6954

 

Montana

Doug Chabot, Director

Gallatin National Forest Avalanche Center

dchabot@bresnan.net, dchabot@fs.fed.us (406) 581-1110

 

Colorado, New Mexico

Ethan Greene, Director

Colorado Avalanche Information Center

Ethan.Greene@state.co.us (303) 204-6027

 

Utah

Craig Gordon, Forecaster

Utah Avalanche Center, Western Uintas

craig@utahavalanchecenter.org (801) 231-2170

Bruce Tremper, Director

Utah Avalanche Center

btremper@fs.fed.us, bruce@utahavalanchecenter.org (801) 231-4744

 

Idaho

Chris Lundy, Director

Sawtooth National Forest Avalanche Center

clundy@fs.fed.us, cclundy@msn.com  (208) 720-8791

Wyoming

Bob Comey, Director

Bridger-Teton National Forest Avalanche Center

comey@wyom.net (307) 690-4527

 

California

Brandon Schwartz

Sierra Avalanche Center

lifeonsnow@gmail.com, bschwartz@fs.fed.us (208) 520-0058

 

Alaska

Kevin Wright, Director

Chugach National Forest Avalanche Information Center

kevin.cnfaic@gmail.com (907) 227-6581

 

Washington/Oregon

Mark Moore, Director

Northwest Weather and Avalanche Center

mark.moore@noaa.gov (206) 526-6164

Freelance snowmobile avalanche educator (based out of Montana)

Scott Schmidt (currently an avalanche consultant, formerly an avalanche forecaster with the Gallatin National Forest Avalanche Center)

snowdog@imt.net (406) 587-7841

 

 








SnowBigDeal.com
Bear Lodge Resort


Search SnoWest
| Promotional Offers | Contact Us | Subscription Service | Advertise | Media Kit | Picture of the Week | Content Archive |
© 2014 SnoWest® Magazine Published by Harris Publishing, Inc.