Where To Turn For Avalanche Center Info

U.S. avalanche contacts for snowmobile avalanche education

Viewed 264 time(s)

Here is where you can find out the lastest information about avalanche conditions across the West.



Karl Birkeland, Acting Director and Avalanche Scientist

Forest Service National Avalanche Center

kbirkeland@fs.fed.us  (406) 587-6954



Doug Chabot, Director

Gallatin National Forest Avalanche Center

dchabot@bresnan.net, dchabot@fs.fed.us (406) 581-1110


Colorado, New Mexico

Ethan Greene, Director

Colorado Avalanche Information Center

Ethan.Greene@state.co.us (303) 204-6027



Craig Gordon, Forecaster

Utah Avalanche Center, Western Uintas

craig@utahavalanchecenter.org (801) 231-2170

Bruce Tremper, Director

Utah Avalanche Center

btremper@fs.fed.us, bruce@utahavalanchecenter.org (801) 231-4744



Chris Lundy, Director

Sawtooth National Forest Avalanche Center

clundy@fs.fed.us, cclundy@msn.com  (208) 720-8791


Bob Comey, Director

Bridger-Teton National Forest Avalanche Center

comey@wyom.net (307) 690-4527



Brandon Schwartz

Sierra Avalanche Center

lifeonsnow@gmail.com, bschwartz@fs.fed.us (208) 520-0058



Kevin Wright, Director

Chugach National Forest Avalanche Information Center

kevin.cnfaic@gmail.com (907) 227-6581



Mark Moore, Director

Northwest Weather and Avalanche Center

mark.moore@noaa.gov (206) 526-6164

Freelance snowmobile avalanche educator (based out of Montana)

Scott Schmidt (currently an avalanche consultant, formerly an avalanche forecaster with the Gallatin National Forest Avalanche Center)

snowdog@imt.net (406) 587-7841



  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up

You Might Also Be Interested In...


Send to your friends!

Do you have a moment to answer a quick question for us?

What is your annual household income?