May 10, 2011

Help Save Snowmobiling In NW Wyoming, Cooke City Area




It was brought to our attention that there is a movement on to plow Highway 212 between the Pilot Creek Parking Area and Cooke City, MT. If that were to happen, an important snowmobile trail for that area of Wyoming and Montana would effectively be closed and along with it, access to some excellent snowmobiling off-trail in the area.

 

Residents and snowmobile club members fear that if the plowing is allowed to move forward, the trail system in the area would be closed. Not only does that impact snowmobilers who love the high mountain riding offered there, but it will negatively impact winter business in Cooke City and Cody, WY.

 

More detailed information is available in the attached PDF.

 

Snowmobilers everywhere are asked to contact the folks listed below and voice your opposition to plowing Highway 212. Be sure to do it as soon as possible as there is a meeting scheduled for May 20 on the issue.

 

Contacts

 

Bucky Hall – Park County Wyoming Commissioner – bhall@parkcounty.us

Joe Tilden – Park County Wyoming Commissioner – jtilden@parkcounty.us

Dave Burke – Park County Wyoming Commissioner – dburke@parkcounty.us

Loren Grosskopf – Park County Wyoming Commissioner - lgrosskopf@parkcounty.us

Tim French – Park County Wyoming Commissioner – tfrench@parkcounty.us

Claudia Wade – Park County Travel Council – pctc@codychamber.org

James Klessons - Forward Cody – jklessens@forwardcody.com

Bert Miller – Wyoming State Snowmobile Association Vice President – b.miller1962@hotmail.com

Brad Hill – Wyoming State Trails Program Manager – bhill@state.wy.us

Pat Childers – Wyoming State Representative – childers@wyoming.com

Sam Krone – Wyoming State Representative – skrone@wyoming.com

Hank Coe – Wyoming Senator – hcoe@wyoming.com

Dan Wenk – Yellowstone Park Superintendent – yell_superintendent@nps.gov

Marty Malone - – Park County Montana Commisioner – commissioners@parkcounty.org

Robbie Holman - Montana  Snowmobile Association President - robbie@avid-products.com

Scott Herzog – Montana Snowmobile Association Vice President – scott@glacierstateelectric.com

Donna Rowland – Cooke City Chamber of Commerce Executive Director – info@cookecitychamber.org

Joe Alexander – Shoshone Forest Supervisor -  jalexander@fs.fed.us

Terry Root – Shoshone Forest District Ranger – troot@fs.fed.us

Bruce McCormmick – Wyoming Highway Commission – bruce@codyenterprise.com

Nancy Tia Brown – Cody Wyoming Mayor – mayornancy@cityofcody.com

Cody Beers – Wyoming Department of Transportation District 5 Public Involvement Specialist -  Cody.Beers@dot.state.wy.us





 View PDF






Arctiva Clothing
Western Riviera Motel & Cabins


Search SnoWest
| Promotional Offers | Contact Us | Subscription Service | Advertise | Media Kit | Picture of the Week | Content Archive |
© 2014 SnoWest® Magazine Published by Harris Publishing, Inc.